Donald DraperI’m not sure how this happened, but I only just started watching “Mad Men” with only five episodes left in season three.  It’s especially weird because it is so my kind of show–drama mixed with social commentary mixed with tragically flawed characters (including a couple of struggling writers no less!).

Seriously, where have I been?

Despite the fact I am woefully under-informed about who these characters are and how they have ended up where they are now, I found myself deeply moved by the main character, Don Draper’s simple proclamation in this season’s finale episode:

“I want to work.”

Yeah? Me too.

Such a seemingly benign statement, but it hit me like a slap in the face and left me thinking, “Oh crap, I’m still unemployed.”

I know a lot of people are in the same boat right now and three months isn’t that long in the grand scheme of things, but still…

I’m different. I should be able to get a job when other people can’t. Because I’m a doer. I’m not a sit around and feel sorry for myself kind of person. And I’m willing to do the leg work. I am diligent and I follow up and I have good relationships and I…well…

But despite all my doing, I am still without a job.

I just want to work.

I hear you Donald Draper. I just want to get up in the morning and do good work. No. Scratch that. I want to do great work.

I need to produce. I need to wow someone with my skill. I need to obsess over a project for a client and make them happy. No matter what. I need to make my boss look good. I need a team to bond with, to laugh with, to bicker with, to chat about Mad Men with…

I want to work.

