What  am I thankful for this Thanksgiving? I’ll give you a hint–it’s not my family or friends. Or freedom or liberty. It’s the low points in life that really define who we are and I’m thankful for them…now.

I’m thankful for:

1. Adopting a puppy when I was still a sophomore in college and living in an on-campus  dorm. Otherwise, I never would have met my husband.

2. Getting fired from my waitressing job and going on vacation to Mexico the same week with less than $50 in my pocket. The first time I realized that I could face adversity head on and still have a good time.

3. Knowing what it’s like to live in chronic, daily, debilitating pain. Without it, I may have missed what is really important in my life.

4. Losing my job and my health insurance. I might have never fully understood what a life saver unemployment is OR one of the major problems with our health care system.

5. Starting this blog as a constructive outlet for my frustration with the world around me. Without it, I may have had to kill several annoying people in my life.

6. Getting pregnant before I was “ready”. A different path might have left me childless and empty.

7. Having alcoholic parents. Without them, I might not have mustered up enough self-preservation to cut out the destructive people in my life.

8. Never having extra money. Otherwise, I might waste it on trendy, useless things.

9. All the HR people who never called me back when they said they would. Without you, I probably would have taken a job I hated.

10.Not winning the lottery, yet. Surely, the prize has been big enough and my day will come.

What are your thankful for?

