For those of you who don’t know: I got a job!

No wait. That’s not right.

I got THE job!

I got it.

Holy crap.

I mean, I seriously had visions of several more months of unemployment and COBRA payments before finally landing some vaguely defined position at some shady, small start-up with no benefits that would tank in a few months. And then I would be forced to take some $3 an hour lame ass waitressing job in desperation where I would have to listen to super annoying customers all day long before I finally lose it and punch some old lady in the face for complaining her soup wasn’t hot enough. Then they’d haul me away to a loony bin where I’d enjoy a packed schedule of group therapy and trips to the pharmacy.

Phew. Glad that didn’t happen.

Instead, I actually found a job that I really wanted at a great company doing what I love. And I even have a title with the word “writer” in it.

Who would have thunk it, right?

Don’t get me wrong. I spent a lot of time trying to find a job. I set up job alerts,  added connections to my LinkedIn profile daily, wrote blog entries all over the place, worked my network via social media and in person,  volunteered, and I was following up on leads every week.

But most of the time, I felt like I was getting no where. And the rejections were piling up. And self doubt weighed on me daily.

I worried.

Did I need to get more experience doing this or doing that? Did I need a better portfolio? Should I start a new blog–one that’s not so revealing? Should I just go back to event planning? Is it better to be miserable and get a paycheck or wait for a job I actually want?

And let me tell you: Worrying is a big ass time suck.

I spent so much time worrying, I felt like I was constantly taking my brand in different directions. Never sure of which one was right.

In the end, none of my self-marketing efforts mattered. I got the job by writing a stellar cover letter, having a killer resume, nailing the interview and sending a creative thank you.

Oh, and they also loved this blog.

Crazy shit. Right?

