Happy Valentines' Day--JERK!

I apologize in advance to those who are shocked by this news. I know it’s probably considered more appropriate to keep this type of information to yourself for a awhile before telling friends, family, co-workers and complete strangers. But we live in a time where nothing is sacred. Everyone knows everyone’s business. So, I figure. Let’s just get it out there and live with the consequences.

I didn’t want it to end this way–given our lengthy history. We met in college–nearly 20 years ago. I was naive and eager to find a partner who was willing to accept me for me–despite my humble beginnings as a waitress.

We had what I thought was a strong mutual respect for each other in the beginning. And I stuck with him through thick and thin. I trusted him despite signs that his ego was growing out of control and I had ignored his many indiscretions.

But I have decided that I can’t put up with it any longer. All he cares about is finding new excuses to penalize me for every little mistake. I know now I’m nothing to him–I’m just one of many he’s swindled–and I don’t matter.  

So, I found someone new and I’m moving on.

And so this is good-bye, Bank of America. I won’t miss you. The Move Your Money Project convinced me to put up with you no more and support a local bank who cares about my business.

I know you were counting on me to not have the strength to set up a new online banking account, to enter all those payees and reoccurring payments, to make the time to sign a few papers and to actually close my accounts with you.

But I did it. After 20 years, I did it and it feels great.

So good luck, BOA. I know you probably won’t notice I’m gone. But maybe, just maybe, some day you’ll regret the opportunity you missed. The alienation you caused. The greed.

But me, I won’t regret anything. I’ll be just fine. It was worth the extra effort. This divorce put it all back in perspective.

Happy Valentine’s Day, Middlesex Bank. Let’s hope this match made in heaven lasts even longer than my previous relationship.

