Who are you people?

Have you noticed how liberal you can be with your Facebook friend acceptance standards?

Seriously.

People you didn’t say more than two words to in high school? Sure. Old boyfriends that you haven’t talked to in years? Why not. Friends that fell off the face of the earth once you moved away? Bring ’em on. Relatives you can’t stand? Beats seeing them at holidays, right? People you met once and didn’t really like. Absolutely! They obviously need more friends like you.

Geez. Have some boundaries!

I like to think that I’m a little more particular when it comes to the friending I do on Facebook. I see Facebook’s constant suggestions–hounding me to acquire more friends. Trying to make me feel like my friend list is somehow inadequate.

But mostly, I ignore Facebook. I know it’s kind of crazy, but I like to think it’s between me and my friends to decide if we’re really friends.

But now that I have a fan page on Facebook, I’m noticing that not all my “friends” rushed to support the cause. Nope. Only about half. Hmm…could it be that about half of my friends are not really friends at all?

The other half of my friends are really just stalkers who want to know what I’m doing, but don’t really have any interest in me or what I have to say. Gasp.

So this got me thinking: Facebook could really use a “foes” option. So you can friend someone or foe them. Because life is full of friends and foes–the status of which is in constant flux. And what better way to keep score than to track of them all in one handy place?

Are you with me? Do you think your foe list would be bigger than your friend list? Mine, definitely bigger. A lot bigger.

But then, where does that leave my fans?

Given that I’d do just about anything to have my fans suggest my fan page to all their friends?

Friends with benefits seems most apropos.

